An update

There has been something of a radio silence here on the blog in the last few months, as other priorities have taken precedence, so I thought I would do a quick update post on what I have been working on and what’s been keeping me occupied before I try and get back into some more regular and topical posts.

Projects: I am lucky to be working on a number of great projects, including two evaluations of projects for young dads (NEYDL and YDC). I have also been piloting work about lifestyle and male fertility and have done a number of really fascinating interviews so far for this work, how that will develop is a work in progress. We also have data from our male fertility survey in partnership with Fertility Network UK that we will be analysing soon, again watch this space for more information about the findings from that exciting project. It was my first time using a qualitative questionnaire for that project so it will be interesting to reflect on that experience in due course.

Writing: I’m in the midst of writing my second book! To be published by Palgrave, Supporting Young Men as Fathers-Gendered Understandings of Group-Based Community Provisions, has been a joy to write and it will be exciting to get it out in the world in due course. I have also been working on a number of papers from our male infertility work and developing publications from other research projects so lots of writing has been happening.

Teaching: I am looking forward to getting back in the classroom at the start of team and working with Nutrition and Dietetics team at Leeds Beckett to deliever social science teaching to their students. Teaching sociology and applied health social science is a really interesting and enjoyable process and I will be developing new modules over the next year so I may post more about that too.

 

Leave a Reply

